The Bishop is an ordained minister who has a role of oversight in a Diocese. There are different types of Bishop. A Diocesan Bishop is in charge of the Diocese. A Suffragan  (or Area) Bishop is appointed to a Diocese to work alongside the Diocesan Bishop with their authority. In this Diocese, we have two Bishops – the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Diocesan Bishop), and the Bishop of Taunton (Suffragan Bishop).

Bishops may carry out all of the different ministries of other ordained ministers, but additionally have the responsibility of ordaining new deacons and priests, and also for confirming new candidates preparing to receive communion. They work alongside other senior staff including Archdeacons, the Bishop’s Chaplain and a wide ranging and supportive administrative team to oversee a wide variety of tasks within the Diocese.