General Synod

General Synod is the national church ‘parliament’ which meets to discuss issues that affect the whole of the Church of England. It comprises of 3 houses – the House of Bishops, the House of Clergy, and the House of Laity, so is representative of the membership of the whole church. On each matter, the 3 houses vote separately and there must be agreement across all 3 houses for a matter to be passed. General Synod members are elected, and serve for a 5 year period.